Glory to the New Born King

… The angel said to them, ‘Do not be afraid. I bring you good news that will cause great joy for all the people. Today in the town of David a Saviour has been born to you; he is the Messiah, the Lord… Luke 2:10-11

A lot of effort and time (and pennies of course) were put into present shopping in December. I wonder if anybody actually enjoyed it. I’m just glad there’s only one Christmas per year. I received a few cooking related items from my husband. It looks like he enjoys my cooking and encourages me to do more. Or maybe I cook awful and he wants me to improve…

We bought our very first Christmas tree this year, decorated it with fairy lights and baubles. I never thought I would be bothered. But I do like it very much.

I didn’t forget about cleaning and tidying at the same time as decorating. More clothes were given away to charity shops and friends. The house felt so stuffed with all the food, presents and festive things, I had to clear things away in advance just to balance it out.

Glory to the New Born King

The picture above is of the annual Family Carols service at our church on the afternoon of 24th December. Balloons were given out at the end of the service, making it almost impossible to move. It was great to also see the church as full as this during the ten Carols by Candlelight services at the beginning of December!

Before Christmas Day arrived I was studying, asking for advice and reading recipes because I was going to make the first turkey in my life and my British mother-in-law was coming to visit us. I guess it’s like making a Pekin roast duck for your mother-in-law from Beijing for Chinese New Year. No big deal at all!

Now everything is in the past tense. I think I can say thank you to Jamie Oliver for his full set of Christmas recipes, including roast turkey, gravy, roast potatoes and vegetables, lemon cheesecake pots and sticky toffee pudding!

Christmas Day started with a brilliant church service, followed by roast turkey and all of the above. We set off for Northumberland National Park for star watching at about 8pm. I think I saw the milky way for the first time. We also visited some friends in Cambo, who were hosting five students for Christmas.

Glory to the New Born King

26th we planned to take a walk in Northumberland. However we got up at about midday, arrived in Corbridge with only a few hours daylight left. The Angel Inn was a lovely restaurant, buzzing with people, surprisingly on Boxing Day. After our bodies were warmed up by a bowl of tomato and basil soup, and a salad, we headed towards Once Brewed for a walk along the Hadrian’s Wall. The choice of paths were either climbing 90 degrees up to a rocky crag, or slipping across a muddy grassland, in the dusk. The answer was neither. So we just went to Once Brewed youth hostel and had a little chat with the reception lady (and used their toilets).

Apparently, Once Brewed youth hostel is going to be closed in Sep 2015, but will reopen in about 18 months time with brand new buildings and facilities. After all, this is the only youth hostel along the whole of the Hadrian’s Wall. (More please!)

Glory to the New Born King

27th was a day in bed. I was defeated by a bad cold. And the rest of my 2014 was in pretty much a similar state.

This was the sunrise of the 31st 2014 over my city. Happy New Year everyone.Glory to the New Born King

 

 

 

 

 

 

_________________________

Leave a Reply

