February Miscellany 2015

The greatest news of all, the Word121 translation project (my part) is finally finished after working on it for exactly one year! The proofreading and formatting is still going on. If you would like to know more, or if you’re interested in studying John’s Gospel, please have a look on Word121 website. You can buy it from 10ofThose or download the study books for free. At the moment, all the studies are available in English. Studies on John chapter 1 to 4 are ready in Traditional Chinese. The rest of the studies in both Simplified and Traditional Chinese are coming soon. It’s familiar but completely strange to see my plain Word documents in such lovely colours and formats. I’ll put a couple of screenshots below so you can have a quick look. It’s really beautiful! May people enjoy reading it and learning from it as much as I enjoy translating it. Thanks everyone in London for your hard work! When I heard it was well received in Hong Kong, I couldn’t help singing “to God be the glory, great things he has done”!

February Miscellany

February Miscellany

It’s so exciting to see my translation actually in print!

There was a lot less time for reading in February because I started cycling again. I’m stuck in Tim Keller’s Every Good Endeavour. It’s so hard. Last time I had the same “stuck” feeling was when I read D. A. Carson’s A Call to Spiritual Reformation. But I decided not to give up and I’m reading it everyday, with a big frown (thinking hard), at a snail speed (thinking carefully). Do you think it might be helpful if I do a one sentence summary for each chapter?

January Miscellany

New Year officially started for 1.3 billion people in China and many people from other countries and areas on 19th of February, when the rest of the world was already in their second month of the year. Chinese New Year doesn’t feel one bit like it should be, when I’m not living among the 1.3 billion population.

It’s definitely getting warmer. I started gardening and getting ready to “transform” my garden by moving things around. It’s great to see the tiny seeds I sowed a few seasons ago are proper little bushes now. Moving two prickly rose bushes is a intimidating job. That’s my excuse for (keeping) putting it off anyway.

We started our #MicroAdventure and #Walk1000Miles on the first day of Chinese New Year. The number of distance shot up after we came back from a lovely walking holiday in the Brecon Beacons and the Gower. More of that to come!

February Miscellany

Food gallery for February:

Left – Chorizo carbonara catalan market salad. Right – Glazed pork fillet, cajun-style pepper rice & BBQ sauce.  Both from Jamie’s 15 Minute Meals.

Left – Spinach soup, parma ham and pear.  My recipe. Right – Cauliflower macaroni from Jamie’s 30 Minute Meals.

Left – Chinese Spring Wrap. See my recipe here. Right – Japanese style salmon. From Goodfood magazine, Meal for Two.

Happy March!

 

 

 

__________________

Leave a Reply

